Tem para vender? Venda na Amazon
Virar para trás Virar para a frente
Ouvir Reproduzindo... Pausado   Você está ouvindo uma amostra da edição em áudio do Audible.
Saiba mais
Ver esta imagem

The Great Disruption: Human Nature and the Reconstitution of Social Order (Inglês) Capa dura – 1 jun 1999


Ver todos os 3 formatos e edições Ocultar outros formatos e edições
Preço
Novo a partir de Usado a partir de
eBook Kindle
Capa dura
R$ 13,00
click to open popover

Livros em Oferta
Livros em Oferta
Todos os dias, novos livros com desconto. Confira todos aqui.

Detalhes do produto


Descrição do produto

Resenha da Amazon.com.br

Francis Fukuyama cements his reputation as a wide-ranging public intellectual with this big-think book on social order and human nature. Following his earlier successes (The End of History and the Last Man and Trust), Fukuyama argues that civilization is in the midst of a revolution on a par with hunter-gatherers learning how to farm or agricultural societies turning industrial. He finds much to celebrate in this cultural, economic, and technological transformation, but "with all the blessings that flow from a more complex, information-based economy, certain bad things also happened to our social and moral life." Individualism, for example, fuels innovation and prosperity, but has also "corroded virtually all forms of authority and weakened the bonds holding families, neighborhoods, and nations together." Yet this is not a pessimistic book: "Social order, once disrupted, tends to get remade again" because humans are built for life in a civil society governed by moral rules.

We're on the tail end of the "great disruption," says Fukuyama, and signs suggest a coming era of much-needed social reordering. He handles complex ideas from diverse fields with ease (this is certainly the first book whose acknowledgments thank both science fiction novelist Neal Stephenson and social critic James Q. Wilson), and he writes with laser-sharp clarity. Fans of Jared Diamond's Guns, Germs, and Steel and David Landes's The Wealth and Poverty of Nations will appreciate The Great Disruption, as will just about any reader curious about what the new millennium may bring. This is simply one of the best nonfiction books of 1999. --John J. Miller

Sobre o Autor

Francis Fukuyama is the Omer L. and Nancy Hirst Professor of Public Policy at George Mason University. He has served as a senior social scientist at the RAND Corporation and as deputy director of the U.S. State Department's Policy Planning Staff, and is the author of The End of History and the Last Man and Trust: The Social Virtues and the Creation of Prosperity. He lives with his wife and three children in McLean, Virginia.

Nenhuma avaliação de cliente


Avalie este produto

Compartilhe seus pensamentos com outros clientes

Avaliações mais úteis de consumidores na Amazon.com

Amazon.com: 3,5 de 5 estrelas 20 avaliações
Rion
2,0 de 5 estrelascontradictions
18 de janeiro de 2002 - Publicada na Amazon.com
Compra verificada
8 pessoas acharam isso útil.
David Thomson
5,0 de 5 estrelasFrancis Fukuyama Seems To Have One Hand Tied Behind His Back
9 de outubro de 2000 - Publicada na Amazon.com
Compra verificada
8 pessoas acharam isso útil.
Kindle Customer
4,0 de 5 estrelasFukuyama does it again!
3 de junho de 2017 - Publicada na Amazon.com
Compra verificada