Faça download dos Aplicativos de Leitura Kindle Gratuitos e comece a ler eBooks Kindle nos mais populares smartphones, tablets e computadores pessoais. Para enviar o link de download para seu smartphone por SMS, use o formato internacional sem espaços (Código Internacional+DDD+Número. Exemplo: +551199999999)

  • Apple
  • Android
  • Windows Phone
  • Android

Para receber o link de download digite seu celular:

Preço Kindle: R$ 5,99
OU

Essas promoções serão aplicadas a este item:

Algumas promoções podem ser combinadas; outras não são elegíveis. Para detalhes, por favor, acesse os Termos e Condições dessas promoções.

Entregar no seu Kindle ou em outro dispositivo

Entregar no seu Kindle ou em outro dispositivo

Anúncio do aplicativo do Kindle

Through Struggle, the Stars (The Human Reach Book 1) (English Edition) eBook Kindle


Ver todos os formatos e edições Ocultar outros formatos e edições
Preço
Novo a partir de Usado a partir de
eBook Kindle
"Tente novamente"
R$ 5,99

Número de páginas: 429 páginas Dicas de vocabulário: Habilitado Configuração de fonte: Habilitado
Page Flip: Habilitado Idioma: Inglês
  • Livros semelhantes a Through Struggle, the Stars (The Human Reach Book 1) (English Edition)

eBooks na Loja Kindle
eBooks em oferta na Loja Kindle
Todos os dias, novos eBooks com desconto. Vem.

Descrições do Produto

Descrição do produto

Book 1 of the Human Reach military science fiction series.
Book 2, The Desert of Stars, is available on Amazon as of March 2013.

In 2139, a network of artificial wormholes has allowed humanity to reach nearby stars, where nations fiercely compete to settle new colony worlds. War is imminent between Earth’s top powers, China and Japan, for reasons that no one entirely understands.

Neil Mercer, a freshly commissioned officer in the United States Space Force, is assigned to shepherd a senior spy on a covert mission that risks drawing America into the conflict. In a story featuring high adventure, interstellar intrigue and some of the most scientifically realistic space combat depicted in fiction, Neil and his comrades must face difficult questions about duty, citizenship and national interest as they struggle to discover why the war threatens to engulf every nation on Earth.

A hard science fiction novel by a former Pentagon and CIA reporter for the Associated Press. Recommended for fans of Tom Clancy, Patrick O’Brian, and Robert Heinlein. 115,000 words.

"It's all great, good fun ... " -- Don Sakers, Analog Science Fiction and Fact, May 2012

"... a fine and fast-paced read, very much recommended." -- Paul T. Vogel, The Midwest Book Review, January 2012

Detalhes do produto

  • Formato: eBook Kindle
  • Tamanho do arquivo: 957 KB
  • Número de páginas: 429 páginas
  • Quantidade de dispositivos em que é possível ler este eBook ao mesmo tempo: Ilimitado
  • Editora: John J. Lumpkin; Edição: 1 (31 de julho de 2011)
  • Vendido por: Amazon Servicos de Varejo do Brasil Ltda
  • Idioma: Inglês
  • ASIN: B005FGNLDM
  • Leitura de texto: Habilitado
  • X-Ray:
  • Dicas de vocabulário: Habilitado
  • Leitor de tela: Compatível
  • Configuração de fonte: Habilitado
  • Avaliação média: Seja o primeiro a avaliar este item
  • Lista de mais vendidos da Amazon: #377,265 entre os mais vendidos na Loja Kindle (Conheça os 100 mais vendidos na Loja Kindle)

Avaliação de clientes

Ainda não há avaliações de clientes para este título na Amazon.com.br
5 estrelas
4 estrelas
3 estrelas
2 estrelas
1 estrela

Avaliações mais úteis de consumidores na Amazon.com (beta) (Pode incluir avaliações do Programa de Recompensas para Primeiros Avaliadores)

Amazon.com: 4.3 de 5 estrelas 56 avaliações
Esta avaliação foi considerada útil por 26 de 27 pessoa(s):
5.0 de 5 estrelas Surprisingly good 21 de agosto de 2011
Por Gregory Muir - Publicada na Amazon.com
Formato: eBook Kindle Compra verificada
Any attempt at scifi is going to involve a lot of world-building. A lot of authors take shortcuts and you'll either get the Roman Empire in Space, Nazis in Space, or some amalgamation of other historic examples all mishmashed together. It all smells like "Didn't Do the Research."

Our author here makes a few assumptions to allow for the setting he wants but carries through on them beautifully. You can tell he thought through the history of this setting and when characters reference prior events, you know that it's not a throwaway but a reference to something that has been thought through. Too often you end up with bad writing where some major historical event that should have had an influence on the story up to this point gets made up five minutes before getting shoehorned into the story.

I won't spoil the storyline too much but put it like this: the nations of the Earth have made it into space. With a seemingly unlimited number of planets to settle, war should be a thing of the past. Everyone has warships and navies but nobody really expects a war to happen. Serious people wouldn't allow it, right? Same thinking that predominated Europe before WWI. Events carry through logically from there.

This is a first novel in a larger setting and I'm extremely interested to see where he's going with it.
Esta avaliação foi considerada útil por 1 de 1 pessoa(s):
5.0 de 5 estrelas Really good Science Fiction, emphasis on the science. 20 de julho de 2015
Por hastherage - Publicada na Amazon.com
Formato: eBook Kindle Compra verificada
Really well done Science Fiction. Unlike many other so called "sci-fi" worlds, this one is based on science and not fantasy. Star Wars for example is what I would call Science Fantasy. There is no magic or and no wizards (the Force/Jedi), and there are no Aliens who mysteriously all look like humans with ridiculous face deformities.
The main character is slightly predictable (an introverted but highly intelligent, very capable dude) but none of the characters feel fake or too one-dimensional.
The action is very well done. Battles are clearly described and easy to visualize. I was never sure ahead of time which side would win any engagement and it was interesting and exciting to learn how it all played out.
Some on the situations (old friends "randomly" meeting in the middle of a war zone) might seem a little contrived, but I'm pretty sure that has happened more than a few times in real wars.
The only real issues I'd point out are the occasional (probably less than 10 in the whole book) wrong punctuation or conjunctive word used and not caught by the editor. Also, a few times (in battles I believe) the narrative perspective would change from one paragraph to the next, and then back afterward. Didn't ruin anything for me, just threw me off for a second or two. I have the kindle version so maybe the print one got more error checking???

Overall this book was a great story and I loved reading it. If I didn't care about scientific plausibility and the worlds internal consistency I might knock it down to a 4, but I do and Lumpkins delivers those and more. I can't give it less than 5.

Also, this author created a mod for the PC game "XCOM: Enemy Within" and that mod is fantastic. That's actually how I heard about the author and this book. If you play PC games definitely check it out, it's free. Search "Long War mod" (on google, not amazon) and you should be able to find it.
5.0 de 5 estrelas Much better than I expected 6 de julho de 2017
Por Gregory Gardner - Publicada na Amazon.com
Compra verificada
Much better than I expected. A well-thought-out, internally consistent, scientifically and politically plausible stellar civilization. Also, a rousing good story of war and adventure with realistic characters of realistic capabilities.

Thoroughly enjoyed it, plan to get the next one. If you like sci-fi that focuses on realistic science, space, war, military life and a well-turned story, you'll like this. It's far better than average... I'd compare it favorably to Weber's early Honorverse novels, back when he actually turned out good product.
5.0 de 5 estrelas Excellent Space Opera 18 de novembro de 2013
Por Ben Clipperton - Publicada na Amazon.com
Formato: eBook Kindle Compra verificada
Creating a coherent world in the future, complete with new technologies and political entities is very difficult to get right. Usually space operas focus on one character from one nation-state in conflict with one or two enemy nation-states. This gives the story focus and allows an easy narrative.

John Lumpkin, on the other hand, has managed to create a rich, detailed, and above-all consistent and coherent world in his Human Reach novels. Through several secondary characters he is able to flesh out a much larger and more intricate conflict than would be possible with a one-hero-in-every-conflict style. He has beautifully blended existing Earth cultures into future powers.

On the technology side, Lumpkin describes the systems with enough detail to produce a realistic image in the reader's mind while not bogging down too much. A lack of an "inertial dampener" system make the battles occur after weeks of preliminary movement, adding suspense while staying accurate to the physics of space-travel. The multi-layered weapon and defensives systems make the battles rich and varied.

If these novels have a failing, it is in the somewhat type-cast cultures of the nations, which sometimes verge on stereotypes. The books tend to tread lightly when it comes to the "correct" political views, however. Lumpkin does better when he adds characters from other nations in the second novel and attempts to better flesh-out the murky viewpoints of the conflict. He does make sure to have his characters question the validity and morality of their situations and gives antagonists their own viewpoint and (mostly) coherent reasoning.

I would highly recommend these novels to anyone who enjoys science-fiction.
5.0 de 5 estrelas A great mix of realpolitik 19 de fevereiro de 2015
Por Just Chris - Publicada na Amazon.com
Formato: eBook Kindle Compra verificada
I just finished "Through Struggle the Stars" and found it very satisfying. A great mix of realpolitik, real physics and a believable future direction for the human race. The Human Reach series postulates a future in which Earth does not unite into a one-world government, but instead the great nations of Earth compete with one another to colonize nearby stars. The science is real, the politics are real, and the characters feel real. I'm starting the second book today and already wishing the third book was finished. Kudos to John Lumpkin for this outstanding story. Everything he writes from here on goes on my radar.
click to open popover